Inipi New Moon Sweat Lodge

Last night, I partook in an Inipi New Moon Sweat Lodge. Essentially, this is a ceremony of purification. The Native American traditions held at this particular lodge is of Lakota custom and culture.  For those not familiar with sweat lodges, sweat lodges are built from tree branches in a dome like structure (similar to what the metal egg dome structure looks like on a child’s playground.) The dome structure is covered with tarps (non plastic) and it creates a completely dark atmosphere while inside. The Sweat Lodge’s heat depends on heat rocks. Before the lodge, a fire is built and the rocks are heated in the fire for hours and later used to warm the lodge. There is a hole in the ground in the middle of the sweat lodge that holds the rocks and water is poured on them during the ceremony to create steam. Each rock is blessed, thanked, and marked with cedar wood/and or tobacco. When the rocks are hot, participants slowly crawl into the lodge in a clockwise motion. The rocks are brought in, the tarp door is shut, and the ceremony begins…

The Inipi took place on the new moon and the new moon is historically known as a time for rebirth and making intentions. The Sweat Lodge’s shape (dome structure) is similar to the shape of the womb. A sweat lodge ceremony is a time of rebirth. We go back into the womb and we pray, release, and renew.

Some aspects of the sweat lodge include:

  • Blessing the four directions for each season and thanking the wolf, bear, buffalo, and eagle for the knowledge they bring
  • Thanking the earth
  • Thanking our elders and saying “ Om Mitakuye o’yasin!” which translates to “all my relatives”
  • Taking part in four rounds of prayers, chants, and singing. The lodge door is opened between each round and halfway through; people are permitted to exit and take a break if needed.
  • Ending your last meal about 2-4 hours prior to the ceremony
  • Drinking tons of water throughout the day but not drinking water right before the lodge
  • It is respected that you leave at any point if you’re uncomfortable

Here is a picture of the fire heating the rocks. As each person enters the sacred ground, they are smudged or cleansed with sage to purify their essence.

 Smudging

I was excited to partake in this sweat lodge since I found out they are held at The Tree of Life. Back home, I partook in several lodges and instead they were of Cree Native American tradition. I was excited to learn and see the Lakota customs. Also, I haven only experienced a lodge during the winter and early spring. I wondered how hot it would get inside the lodge while taking part in a ceremony in the summer in Arizona.  Little did I know this would be the hottest and longest sweat I had ever been through!

Here is Gabriel explaining the traditions of the Lodge and what to expect. Keith is the other Lakota certified leader and he led this lodge with the help of Gabriel.

Explaining the traditions of a Lakota Inipi

Explaining the traditions of a Lakota Inipi

During the ceremony, I felt so hot that the second round I had to lie down.  I wondered if I could make it through. It was hard to breathe out of my nose. I remembered Gabriel saying something about breathing through the tough moments first before giving in to the urge to leave. I wanted to make it through the lodge but it was tough! I breathed normally and focused on my center. I breathed and breathed and focused only on my essence instead of my thoughts. Just the moment- each moment- would get me through.

I noticed that the friends and acquaintances that had gone to the lodge together formed a bond during the lodge. Crammed tightly in the lodge, people scooted over even more to give each other spaces to lie down when needed, and words of encouragement were spoken amongst neighbors to ensure that all was ok and that we were in this together.

The ceremony can be a transformational time consisting of deep prayers, forgiveness to others and ourselves, ancient sacred songs, and toxins pouring out of bodies from the sweat. This was a transformational time of releasing. I knew that the longer I sat in the lodge and dealt with the heat and how I was feeling physically and emotionally, I knew it would make me stronger. After the second round, the third and fourth rounds seemed much easier. I talked to a couple friends after the ceremony. Some friends said the third round of heat was the most difficult. Others said the first was most difficult. I realized that the second round might have not even been the hottest- that much of the intensity I felt probably came from my own personal detox and release of emotions. I must have been letting go of some intense feelings the second round. And I was able to breathe through it by focusing on the moment. I realized this is a good tool for everyday use. When those tough moments come up, don’t jump up to leave, but breathe through, work through it, and it will get easier!

After the lodge, we all were invited to the café to drink Turmeric Cool Aid (turmeric juice, lime, stevia and water) to rehydrate ourselves.

We felt new, lighter, and like warriors. Those who had not known each other before the lodge were socializing in a new way, as if we were family. The other Sevas and I traveled on foot down the mountain and back to our dorms. The cool night breeze felt nice our warm bodies. We had the idea to make a stop at the Oasis health spa before heading to the dorms to use the hot tubs. We jumped into the pool and then the hot tub, back and forth, and back and forth, giddy from the lightness of mind and body. What a summer!

Leave a comment